American Society of Hematology

Medical Education Subcommittee

Committee Roster

Rakesh Mehta, MD ('19)

Appointed Members
Hanny Al-Samkari, MD ('22)
Joanne Filicko-O'Hara, MD ('19)
Leidy Isenalumhe, MD,MS ('20)
Jose F. Leis, MD, PhD ('19)
Ariela L. Marshall, MD ('22)
Srikanth Nagalla, MBBS,MS ('21)
Rakhi P. Naik, MD ('21)
Julian Sprague, MD, PhD ('20)

Kenneth Cohen, MD ('19) - Chair, Teaching Cases Working Group
Leslie Renee Ellis, MD, MSHPEd ('20) - Co-Director, ASH Medical Educators Institute
Scott D. Gitlin, MD, FACP ('20) - Chair, ASH MEI Working Group
Gerald A. Soff, MD ('19) - Chair, BHC Oversight Group

Staff Liasons
Josel Fritz
Robby J. Reynolds, MPH

Committee Mandate

The Medical Education Subcommittee, a subcommittee of the Committee on Training, ensures a voice and presence for hematology in undergraduate (medical school) and graduate (residency and fellowship) medical education; this includes creating educational tools and influencing policy.  The Subcommittee focuses on Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) issues, and ASH representatives to the Association of Specialty Professors (ASP) and Council of Academic Societies (CAS) are frequently selected from the membership of this subcommittee.


The Chair of the Medical Education Subcommittee serves a 1-year term with no option for renewal.  Members of the subcommittee serve 4-year, staggered terms (unless otherwise indicated) with the option for renewal; two members rotate off each year to ensure continuity.  


The chairs of the BHC Oversight Group and the Teaching Cases Working Group as well as a Co-Director of the ASH Medical Educators Institute (MEI) serve as liaison members of the Medical Education Subcommittee.


Members of the subcommittee are expected to participate in conference calls and communicate via email as necessary.

back to top