Jump to Main Content

About ASH

Training Awards Subcommittee

Committee Roster

David  B Sykes, MD, PhD  ('25)

Appointed Members
Brandon Blue, MD  ('24)
Joselle Cook, MBBS  ('25)
Urshila Durani, MD, MPH  ('24)
Courtney Fitzhugh, MD  ('24)
Luis  Enrique Malpica Castillo, MD  ('25)
Sanjay  R Mohan, MD, MSc  ('25)
Heather  A. O'Leary, PhD  ('24)
Melody Smith, MD, MS  ('24)
Randal  Joseph Westrick, PhD  ('25)
Becky Zon, MD  ('25)

Staff Liaison
Allison Samis

Committee Mandate

The Training Awards Subcommittee, a subcommittee of the Committee on Training, provides consideration on various aspects of the ASH training awards portfolio such as the administration, evaluation (including a review of awardee progress), and exploration of program refinements. The subcommittee provides oversight of the following ASH awards including the study section process for each: Graduate Hematology Award; Hematology Opportunities for the Next Generation (HONORS) Award; Medical Student Physician-Scientist (Phy-Sci) Award; and Research Training Award for Fellows (RTAF).


The chair and members of the Training Awards Subcommittee serve two-year terms (unless otherwise indicated) with the option for an additional term.


The membership of the Training Awards Subcommittee includes the current study section chairs for each of awards under subcommittee purview.


Members are expected to participate in conference calls and communicate via email as necessary.


The chair of the Training Awards Subcommittee serves as a liaison member of the Awards Committee, the Committee on Training, and the Awards Review Subcommittee and is expected to attend the meetings of those committees.