Jump to Main Content

About ASH

Publications Committee

Committee Roster

Shalini Shenoy, MD  ('24)

Appointed Members
Yasmin Abaza, MD  ('24)
Evandro Bezerra, MD  ('26)
Elizabeth Brem, MD  ('27)
Michaela Fontenay, MD, PhD  ('26)
Lisa  Kristine Hicks, MD, MSc  ('26)
Adetola  A. Kassim, MBBS, MS  ('27)
Jose  A. Lopez, MD  ('25)
Abner Louissaint, MD, PhD  ('25)
Vivian Oehler, MD  ('26)
Sameer  A. Parikh, MD  ('25)
Pierluigi Porcu, MD  ('26)
Jennifer Rothman, MD  ('26)
Vivien  A. Sheehan, MD, PhD  ('25)

Ex Officio Members
Belinda Avalos, MD  ('25)  - President-Elect
Mohandas Narla, DSc  ('24)  - President
Robert Negrin, MD  ('26)  - Vice President

Jennifer  R. Brown, MD, PhD  ('25)  - Committee on Educational Affairs

Staff Liaison
Nina Hoffman

Committee Mandate

The Publications Committee advises the ASH Executive Committee on the long-range strategic planning and management of ASH publications, including the Blood journals as well as other print and digital publications. The committee is responsible for developing and evaluating proposals for publications that may benefit the Society and the field of hematology. The committee works to enhance the value and impact of ASH publications for hematology.


The Publications Committee structure includes a member of the Committee on Educational Affairs as a liaison member.


Editors of all ASH publications are precluded from service on the Publications Committee but may be invited to attend committee meetings to present regular reports, provide input when a specific agenda item necessitates their perspective about publications under their purivew, and contribute to relevant editorial discussions. Additionally, ASH hosts one annual meeting and quarterly meetings to convene all the editors with representation from the Publications Committee (usually the chair) to address matters related to peer-reviewed content. 


Publications Committee members are prohibited from simultaneously serving as an editor or in a role that influences the strategy of another hematology/oncology journal with significant overlap with ASH publication products. Also, they cannot be employees or owners of Ineligible Companies as defined by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education.


Members of the Publications Committee are expected to attend two meetings per year: one in the summer at ASH Headquarters and one held virtually in the fall. Committee members are also expected to communicate by email or conference call for issues that need attention between scheduled meetings.


The chair of the Publications Committee serves as a liaison member of the Committee on Investment and Audit and is expected to attend the meetings of that committee. Members of the Publications Committee serve as liaison members of the Committee on Communications; Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion;  and Committee on Quality and are expected to attend the meetings of those committees.