Jump to Main Content

About ASH

Committee on Practice

Committee Roster

Mary-Elizabeth  M. Percival, MD  ('25)

Vice Chair
John  M. Burke, MD  ('25)

Appointed Members
Bhavana Bhatnagar, DO  ('27)
Jean M.  M. Connors, MD  ('27)
Pamela Egan, MD  ('24)
Robert Eisner, DO  ('26)
Azam Farooqui, MD  ('25)
Titilope  Adenike Fasipe, MD, PhD  ('27)
Jonathan Gerber, MD  ('24)
Livia Hegerova, MD  ('26)
John  A. Jakob, MD, PhD  ('26)
Erin Jou, MD  ('25)
Vishal Kukreti, MD, FRCP, MSc  ('24)
Janice  W. Lawson, MD  ('27)
Abhishek Maiti, MBBS  ('24)
Ruben Niesvizky, MD  ('26)
Andrew  Ross Wickman O'Brien, MD  ('27)

Ex Officio Members
Belinda Avalos, MD  ('25)  - President-Elect
Mohandas Narla, DSc  ('24)  - President
Robert Negrin, MD  ('26)  - Vice President

Kenneth Adler, MD  - ASH Clinicians in Practice Co-Liaison
Harriet  A. Bering, MD  ('25)  - ASH Representative to ACP CSS
Harriet  A. Bering, MD  - ASH Clinicians in Practice Co-Liaison
Chancellor  E. Donald, MD  - ASH Delegate to AMA HOD (First Seat)
Ellen Fraint, MD  - ASH Alternate to AMA HOD (Second Seat)
Beatrice Gee, MD  ('27)  - Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Jennifer Holter-Chakrabarty, MD  ('24)  - Chair, Committee on Government Affairs
Amar  Harry Kelkar, MD  - ASH Delegate to AMA HOD (Second Seat)
Kelsey Martin, MD  - ASH Alternate to AMA HOD (First Seat)
Jamile  M. Shammo, MD  ('24)  - Councillor in Clinical Practice
Samuel  M. Silver, MD, PhD, FRCP  - Chair, Reimbursement Subcommittee

Claudia Cohn, MD, PhD  ('24)  - AABB
Natalie Dickson, MD  ('25)  - ASCO
Mehdi Hamadani, MD  ('24)  - ASTCT
Toyosi Onwuemene, MD, MS  ('24)  - ASFA
Corinna  L. Schultz, MD  ('24)  - ASPHO
Alexa  J. Siddon, MD  ('24)  - ASCP

Staff Liaison
Suzanne Leous, MPA

Committee Mandate

The Committee on Practice is concerned with all issues affecting the practice of hematology. The committee communicates with other organizations that have programs and policies that affect hematology practice. With appropriate review and approval by the Executive Committee, the Committee on Practice responds to practice-related issues by formulating positions on pending federal legislation, regulatory issues, and private insurance developments. The committee also responds to matters of importance at the regional, state, and local levels, and to Society member requests.


The Committee on Practice seeks ways to engage practice-based hematologists by organizing practice-related programs at the annual meeting (such as the ASH Clinicians in Practice event) and developing other practice-related resources and programs. The committee supports these educational efforts and coordinates activity with appropriate ASH committees and the ASH Clinicians in Practice to support hematology practices.


The Committee on Practice structure includes the following liaison positions:


  • Councillor in Clinical Practice
  • Chair, Reimbursement Subcommittee
  • Chair, Committee on Government Affairs
  • ASH Delegates (First Seat and Second Seat) and Alternate to AMA HOD (First Seat and Second Seat)
  • ASH Representative to ACP CSS
  • ASH Clinicians in Practice Co-Liaisons
  • Member, Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Members of the Committee on Practice are expected to attend committee meetings, including a two-day meeting involving Capitol Hill visits in the spring and other occasional meetings and/or calls with members of Congress, the Centers for Medicare & Medicare Services, or other federal agencies or organizations as needed throughout the year. Committee members are also asked to participate in the ASH Grassroots Network, occasional conference calls, and the development of policy statements, comment letters, and other related documents. In addition, members of the Committee on Practice are expected to evaluate at least two sessions at the ASH annual meeting or the Friday Satellite Symposia. Members of this committee may not be employees or owners of Ineligible Companies, as defined by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education.


The chair of the Committee on Practice serves as a liaison member of the Committee on Government Affairs, Program Committee, Media Experts Subcommittee, and Reimbursement Subcommittee and is expected to attend the meetings of those committees. Members of the Committee on Practice serve as liaison members to the ASH Foundation Committee, Committee on Communications, Committee on Educational Affairs, and Committee on Quality and are expected to attend the meetings of those committees. A member of the Committee on Practice also serves on the CME Accreditation Committee and is expected to attend the meetings of that committee.