Jump to Main Content

About ASH

Medical Education Subcommittee

Committee Roster

Hanny Al-Samkari, MD  ('22)

Appointed Members
Pamela  Blair Allen, MD  ('25)
Alexander  A Boucher, MD  ('23)
Caroline Cromwell, MD  ('24)
Jennifer  R. Green, MD  ('25)
Sara Kreimer, MD  ('25)
Ariela  L. Marshall, MD  ('22)
Lindsay Wilde, MD  ('24)
Ida Wong-Sefidan, MD  ('23)

Leslie  Renee Ellis, MD  ('22)  - Chair, ASH MEI Working Group
Leidy  Lismeris Isenalumhe, MD, MS  ('22)  - Chair, Hematology Review Series Task Force
Tiffany  Lin Lucas, MD  ('22)  - Chair, Teaching Cases Working Group

Staff Liaison
Josel Fritz, MD

Committee Mandate

The Medical Education Subcommittee, a subcommittee of the Committee on Training, ensures a voice and presence for hematology in undergraduate (medical school) and graduate (residency and fellowship) medical education; this includes creating educational tools and influencing policy. The subcommittee focuses on Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) issues, and ASH representatives to the Association of Specialty Professors (ASP) and Council of Academic Societies (CAS) are frequently selected from the membership of this subcommittee.


The Chair of the Medical Education Subcommittee serves a one-year term with no option for renewal. Members of the subcommittee serve staggered four-year terms (unless otherwise indicated).


The chairs of the Teaching Cases Working Group, ASH MEI Working Group, and Hematology Review Series Task Force serve as liaison members of the Medical Education Subcommittee.


The Chair of the Medical Education Subcommittee serves as a liaison member of the Committee on Training and is expected to attend the meetings of that committee.