American Society of Hematology

Nominating Committee

Committee Roster

Mary M. Horowitz, MD, MS ('20)

Appointed Members
Miguel Abboud, MD
Omar I. Abdel-Wahab, MD
Charles S. Abrams, MD ('20)
Suneet Agarwal, MD,PhD
Tiffany T. Ake, MBA
Joseph C. Alvarnas, MD
Jane F. Apperley, FRCP, FRCPath, MB ('19)
Joel S. Bennett, MD
Alison A. Bertuch, MD
Leslie Brady
Jose Cancelas, MD
Wee-Joo Chng, MBBS, PhD, FRCPath, FRCP
Stella Chou, MD
Charles Clayton
Theresa L. Coetzer, PhD
Seth J. Corey, MD
John D. Crispino, PhD, MBA
Christopher Flowers, MD,MS
Patricia Frustace
Patrick G. Gallagher, MD
Norbert Gattermann, MD
Aaron T. Gerds, MD,MS
Jenifer Hamilton, CAE
Alan M. Hanash, MD, PhD
Matthew M. Heeney, MD
Helen Elisabeth Heslop, MD,DSc ('20)
Lisa Kristine Hicks, MD, MSc
Geoff Hill, MD
Nina Hoffman
Jennifer Holter Chakrabarty, MD
Eric Hsi, MD
Lily Huang, PhD
Cage Saul Johnson, MD ('21)
Marc J. Kahn, MD, MBA
Barbara A. Konkle, MD ('21)
Jakub M. Konysz, MA,CAE
Sriram Krishnaswamy, PhD
Alice Kuaban, MS
John P. Leonard, MD
Suzanne Leous, MPA
Ross Levine, MD
Martha Liggett, Esq
Michael L. Linenberger, MD
Punam Malik, MD ('20)
Paul J. Martin, MD
Shannon Meeks, MD
Soheil Meshinchi, MD, PhD
Colleen T. Morton, MD
Anupama Narla, MD
Susan Sack Norby
Thomas L. Ortel, MD, PhD ('19)
Sung-Yun Pai, MD
James Palis, MD
Robert M. Plovnick, MD, MS
Pierluigi Porcu, MD
Angara Koneti Rao, MD
Eduardo Magalhães Rego, MD,PhD
Robby J. Reynolds, MPH
Tracy Roades
Alan Glen Rosmarin, MD
Wolfram Ruf, MD
Gary J. Schiller, MD
Jordan A. Shavit, MD,PhD
Akiko Shimamura, MD, PhD
Robert F. Sidonio, MD,MSc
Carrie Smith
Alexandra Steinheimer, MD,PhD
Toshio Suda, MD,PhD
Deirdra Terrell, PhD
Saad Zafar Usmani, MD
Peter Valk, PhD
Marcel van den Brink, MD, PhD ('19)
Matthew J. Walter, MD
David M. Weinstock, MD
Jane N. Winter, MD ('19)
Catherine Wu, MD
Ted Wun, MD
Karina Yazdanbakhsh, PhD
Sandra S. Zinkel, MD, PhD
Jeffrey Zwicker, MD

Staff Liaison
LaFaundra Neville-Ingram, CAP

Committee Mandate

The Nominating Committee identifies candidates for election as ASH Officers and Councillors. The Committee also recommends candidates for vacant committee positions to the President-Elect. The Committee is charged with considering the current ASH membership to identify potential candidates, especially new and junior members, underrepresented minorities, women, and international members. Candidates are recommended based on their talents and skills appropriate to the position and their commitment to ASH as demonstrated through prior service to the Society.

As mandated in the ASH Bylaws, the membership of the Nominating Committee consists of:

  • 8 at-large members (including one who serves as Chair)
  • 1 current Councillor
  • 1 Past President.

The Chair of the Nominating Committee is typically appointed from members who have served on the Committee for at least one year. The at-large members serve three-year, staggered terms. The Councillor and past President serve two-year terms and are appointed in alternating years.

Members of the Nominating Committee are required to attend a committee meeting held in the summer at ASH Headquarters, and participate in conference calls if necessary.

A member of the Nominating Committee serves as a liaison to the Committee on Promoting Diversity and is expected to attend the meetings of that committee.

back to top