American Society of Hematology

ASH Foundation Committee

Committee Roster

Pierluigi Porcu, MD ('19)

Vice Chair
Gary J. Schiller, MD ('19)

Appointed Members
Maureen Achebe, MD, MPH ('19)
Aref Al-Kali, MD ('22)
Kenneth C. Anderson, MD ('20)
Ami S. Bhatt, MD,PhD ('22)
Amanda Brandow, DO, MS ('21)
Matthew S. Davids, MD ('19)
Parameswaran Hari, MBBS, MD ('20)
Judith Kleinerman, MD ('20)
James LaBelle, MD, PhD ('21)
Hans C. Lee, MD ('22)
Xavier Leleu, MD, PhD ('20)
Alan Eli Lichtin, MD ('19)
Anupama Narla, MD ('19)
Kanti R. Rai, MD ('21)
Marcello Rotta, MD ('22)
Douglas W. Sborov, MD,MSc ('21)
Deborah M. Siegal, MD ('21)
Eileen Patricia Smith, MD ('21)
Paolo Strati, MD ('22)

Ex Officio Members
Stephanie J. Lee, MD, MPH ('20) - President-Elect
Roy L. Silverstein, MD ('19) - President
Martin S. Tallman, MD ('21) - Vice President

Peter A. Kouides, MD ('19) - Member, Committee on Practice

Staff Liaison
Susan Sack Norby

Committee Mandate

The ASH Foundation Committee is responsible for collaborating with the Director of ASH Foundation and Executive Director to maximize charitable support from individual donors and charitable foundations.

The ASH Foundation Committee provides oversight and assistance with all components of the ASH Foundation, including annual membership giving appeals as well as strategies for and pursuit of leadership gift opportunities to effect meaningful philanthropic relationships with individual donors, charitable foundations, and government grantors.

Members of the ASH Foundation Committee must have an interest in fundraising and development work; have demonstrated personal philanthropic support for the ASH Foundation; be interested in assisting with major donor identification, cultivation, and stewardship processes on behalf ASH; and have demonstrated an interest in advocating for philanthropy to advance of the Society and its mission – that is, they must be committed to making ASH a personal, professional, and philanthropic priority.

The ASH Foundation Committee is charged with educating ASH constituents about the Society’s fundraising priorities and opportunities while encouraging them to respond to annual and campaign-specific appeals benefiting ASH programs.  In its effort to evaluate annual giving appeals, the Committee identifies mechanisms to gather periodic feedback from the ASH membership.

Another function of the ASH Foundation Committee is to advise staff about communications with ASH members and other potential donor prospects regarding the Society’s fundraising efforts.  This includes periodic evaluations of ASH publications and website features pertaining to charitable giving, to ensure that such communiques are relevant and effective.

The ASH Foundation Committee structure includes a liaison position to be filled by a current member of the Committee on Practice (with a term congruent to service on parent committee).  A past ASH Scholar Award Recipient (2-year term, renewable once) and a Past President of ASH (4-year term, renewable once) are also appointed as members of the ASH Foundation Committee.

Additionally, a member of the ASH Foundation Committee serves as a liaison member of the Committee on Communications and is expected to attend the meetings of that committee.

Members of the ASH Foundation Committee are required to attend two meetings per year: one in the spring/summer at ASH Headquarters, and one during the ASH annual meeting.

back to top