Jump to Main Content


American Society of Hematology Announces 2018 Scholar Award Recipients

(WASHINGTON, November 30, 2017) – The American Society of Hematology (ASH) today announced the recipients of its 2018 Scholar Awards. One of ASH’s most prestigious award programs, the ASH Scholar Awards financially support fellows and junior faculty dedicated to careers in hematology research as they transition from training programs to careers as independent investigators. 

Each Scholar Award provides $100,000 for fellows and $150,000 for junior faculty over a two- to three-year period. The program funds hematologists in the United States and Canada who conduct basic, translational, and clinical research that furthers the understanding and treatment of blood disorders. ASH Scholar Awards are made possible through support from the ASH Foundation as well as from the corporate community, individual donors, and funds committed by the Society. ASH recognizes this year’s corporate supporters, AbbVie, Inc., Amgen, Inc., Gilead Sciences, Incyte Corporation, Janssen Biotech, Inc., Pharmacyclics LLC, Novartis Oncology, Pfizer, Inc., and Takeda Oncology.

“This award not only provides financial support, but also validates the importance of the research focus of hematologists who are establishing their careers as independent investigators,” said ASH President Kenneth C. Anderson, MD, of the Lebow Institute for Myeloma Therapeutics and Jerome Lipper Myeloma Center at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute in Boston. “We are proud to be supporting the next generation of scholars in hematology as they will play a critical role in moving the field forward.”

The 2018 Scholar Awards recipients are:

Basic Research Fellows

Laura Barreyro, PhD
Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center
Cincinnati, OH
Tomasz Brzoska, PhD
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA
David Gibb, MD, PhD
Yale School of Medicine
New Haven, CT
Zhaohui Gu, PhD
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
Memphis, TN
Zachary Hunter, PhD
Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA
Moonjung Jung, MD
The Rockefeller University
New York, NY
Stanley Lee, PhD
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
New York, NY
Nikoleta Psatha, PhD
University of Washington, School of Medicine
Seattle, WA
Lindsay Rein, MD
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC
Alejo Rodriguez-Fraticelli, PhD
Boston Children’s Hospital
Boston, MA
Srividya Swaminathan, PhD
Stanford University
Stanford, CA
Carlos Villa, MD, PhD
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA
Kira Young, PhD
The Jackson Laboratory
Bar Harbor, ME
Xiaotian Zhang, PhD
Van Andel Institute
Grand Rapids, MI

Clinical Research Fellows

Mark Geyer, MD
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
New York, NY
Aaron Goldberg, MD, PhD
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
New York, NY
Lydia Pecker, MD
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD

Basic Junior Faculty

Lapo Alinari, MD, PhD
The Ohio State University
Columbus, OH
Jeffrey Bednarski, MD, PhD
Washington University in St. Louis
St. Louis, MO
Chun-Wei Chen, PhD
Beckman Research Institute of the City of Hope
Duarte, CA
Brandon Hadland, MD, PhD
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center/Seattle Children’s Hospital
Seattle, WA
Alisa Lee Sherick, MD
University of Colorado, Anschutz Medical Campus
Aurora, CO
Megan McNerney, MD, PhD
The University of Chicago
Chicago, IL
Faiyaz Notta, PhD
University Health Network
Toronto, Canada
Robert Signer, PhD
University of California, San Diego
La Jolla, CA
David Sykes, MD, PhD
Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, MA
Nan Zhu, PhD
BloodCenter of Wisconsin, Inc.
Milwaukee, WI

Clinical Junior Faculty

Hema Dave, MD
Children's National Health System
Washington, DC
Jeremie Estepp, MD
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
Memphis, TN
Jae Park, MD
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
New York, NY
Sara Sadreameli, MD
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD

Joanne Levy, MD, Memorial Award for Outstanding Achievement

Dan Landau, MD, PhD, of Weill Cornell Medical College in New York, will receive the 2017 Joanne Levy, MD, Memorial Award for Outstanding Achievement. This award is made possible by the family of past ASH Scholar Award recipient and distinguished Society member Joanne Levy, MD, who passed away in 2004. It is presented to the current ASH Scholar with the highest-scoring abstract for the ASH Annual Meeting, as determined by the appointed abstract reviewers. 

Dr. Landau earned his medical degree from Tel Aviv University and his doctorate degree from the Paris Diderot University. He is currently an assistant professor of medicine, physiology, and biophysics at the Weill Cornell Medical College, as well as a Core Member of the New York Genome Center. He is being honored for his oral abstract (Publication #559), “Single-Cell Methylome and Transcriptome High-Resolution Maps Define the Effects of Epigenetic Modifiers on the Landscape of Hematopoietic Differentiation.”

About the American Society of Hematology

The American Society of Hematology (www.hematology.org) is the world’s largest professional society of hematologists dedicated to furthering the understanding, diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of disorders affecting the blood. For more than 50 years, the Society has led the development of hematology as a discipline by promoting research, patient care, education, training, and advocacy in hematology. ASH publishes Blood (www.bloodjournal.org), the most cited peer-reviewed publication in the field, which is available weekly in print and online. In 2016, ASH launched Blood Advances (www.bloodadvances.org), an online, peer-reviewed open-access journal.

About the ASH Foundation:

The ASH Foundation (www.hematology.org/foundation) is dedicated to helping hematologists conquer blood diseases worldwide – moving hematology forward through charitable support for research, career development, and quality care and education programs. The ASH Foundation is a division of the American Society of Hematology, a 501(c)(3) charitable and educational organization. The foundation exists to align donors’ charitable giving interests with the mission and priorities of the Society. Because of strong institutional support from ASH, 100 percent of all charitable donations to the ASH Foundation directly benefit programs sponsored by ASH and are tax-deductible as allowed by law.

Sara Khalaf, American Society of Hematology
[email protected]; 202-552-4925