Jump to Main Content

About ASH

Scientific Committee on Epigenetics and Genomics

Committee Roster

Dinesh  S. Rao, MD, PhD  ('24)

Vice Chair
Megan  E. McNerney, MD, PhD  ('24)

Appointed Members
Marjorie Brand, PhD  ('24)
Francine  E. Garrett-Bakelman, MD, PhD  ('25)
Dan Avi  A. Landau, MD, PhD  ('24)
Daniel Lipka, MD  ('27)
Vikram  R. Paralkar, MD  ('24)
Justin Taylor, MD  ('27)
Zuzana Tothova, MD, PhD  ('27)
Nan Zhu, PhD  ('27)

Staff Liaison
Alice Kuaban, MS

Committee Mandate

The ASH Scientific Committee on Epigenetics and Genomics will focus on scientific and clinical studies aimed at understanding the molecular mechanisms by which epigenetic and genomic alterations regulate normal and malignant blood cell development and function. Epigenetics encapsulates mechanisms which regulate DNA transcription, repair, and replication other than DNA sequence variants. This includes covalent cytosine modifications, including DNA methylation and hydroxymethylation, histone modifications, and non-coding RNAs. Genomics captures alterations made in the DNA sequence during development, such as seen in immune receptors, or mutations from oncogenic transformation. This Committee would also cover the mechanisms behind these epigenetic and genomic alterations, not just their outcomes.The strength of the Committee is that it can integrate the epigenetic and genetic sequence alterations that both mediate normal development and lead to malignancy. Thus, genetic changes that mediate epigenetic marks, and vice versa, can be presented here. The Committee will also seek to highlight clinical and translational studies that describe the preclinical and clinical development of agents that alter epigenetic/genomic marks and studies that improve our understanding of how epigenetically- or genomically-targeted therapies improve outcomes for patients with hematopoietic malignancies.