Jump to Main Content


Henry M. Stratton Medal Recipients (Formerly Lecture)

Named after the late Henry Maurice Stratton, who made significant contributions to the Society and founded the medical publishing house of Grune and Stratton with Mr. L.H. Grunebaum, the Henry M. Stratton Medal is intended to honor an individual, age 51 or above (at time of nomination), who has made outstanding contributions to hematology.

View more information about the Henry M. Stratton Medal

Since 2012, ASH has presented this award to two individuals annually: one who has made outstanding contributions in basic science and one for achievements in clinical research or translational research. The following individual received the Henry M. Stratton Medal:

Year Recipients  Information
2024 Douglas Cines, MD Katherine High, MD Press Release
2023 Rodger McEver James B. Bussel

Press release
ASH News Daily profile

2022 Timothy Ley Robert Montgomery

Press release
ASH News Daily profile

2021 Denisa Wagner Kwaku Ohene-Frempong

Press release
ASH News Daily profile

2020 Michelle Le Beau Maria Domenica Cappellini

ASH News Daily profile

2019 William Eaton Richard A. Larson

Press release
ASH Clinical News article

2018 Freda K. Stevenson
Brunangelo Falini

Press release
ASH Clinical News article

2017 Josef T. Prchal
Sherrill J. Slichter

Press release

2016 J. Evan Sadler
Ayalew Tefferi

Press release
ASH Clinical News article

2015 Nancy Speck
Karl Welte
2014 Geraldine P. Schechter
Timothy Springer
2013 Nancy Andrews
Elaine Jaffe
2012 David Ginsburg Richard Aster  
Year Recipient
2011 Ching-Hon Pui
2010 Sanford Shattil
2009  Connie Eaves
2008 Clara D. Bloomfield
2007 Carlo Croce
2006 Jack Hirsh
2005 Barry Coller
2004 Stanley Korsmeyer
2003 Janet Rowley
2002 George Stamatoyannopoulos
2001 Harold R. Roberts
2000 H. Franklin Bunn
1999 Helen Ranney
1998 Arthur W. Nienhuis
1997 Rainer Storb
1996 Bernard Forget
1995 David Nathan
1994 Titus H.J. Huisman
1993 Earl W. Davie
1992 Kenneth G. Mann

Henry M. Stratton Lecturers

Year Recipient
1991 Ralph L. Nachman
1990 Malcolm Moore
1989 Aaron J. Marcus
1988 Robert S. Schwartz
1987 Robert C. Gallo
1986 Bernard Babior
1985 Vincent DeVita
1984 Samuel Rapaport
1983 Eugene P. Cronkite
1982 Ernest A. McCulloch
1981 Clement A. Finch
1980 Yuet W. Kan
1979 Henry S. Kaplan
1978 William N. Valentine
1977 Thomas A. Waldmann
1976 Wendell F. Rosse
1975 E. Donnall Thomas
1974 Ernest Beutler
1973 Albert S. Gordon
1972 Oscar D. Ratnoff
1971 H.G. Kunkel
1970 W.R. Bruce