American Society of Hematology

The American Society of Hematology Announces 2015 Scholar Award Recipients

Published on: December 02, 2014

(WASHINGTON, Dec. 2, 2014) – The American Society of Hematology (ASH) today announced the recipients of its 2015 Scholar Awards. The ASH Scholar Awards provide financial support for fellows and junior faculty pursuing research careers to assist them during the critical period in which they must complete their training and achieve status as an independent investigator.

The awards, in the amount of $100,000 each for fellows and $150,000 for junior faculty over a two- to three-year period, support basic, translational, and clinical research that advances the hematology field. ASH Scholar Awards are made possible through support from the ASH Foundation as well as from the corporate community, individual donors, and funds committed by the Society. The Society recognizes this year’s corporate supporters: Amgen, Inc.; AstraZeneca – MedImmune; Bristol-Myers Squibb; Celgene Corporation; Genentech, Inc.; Gilead Sciences, Inc.; Millennium: The Takeda Oncology Company; Novartis Pharmaceuticals, Inc.; Onyx Pharmaceuticals; Pfizer, Inc.; Seattle Genetics; and Teva Oncology. 

“For nearly 30 years, the ASH Scholar Awards have provided talented hematologists with the resources they need to transition from training to independent, successful careers,” said ASH President Linda J. Burns, MD, of the University of Minnesota. “Not only do the awards support the tangible needs of these researchers, but they also provide these talented scholars with the confidence that comes from having their research enthusiastically supported by established experts in the field.”

The 2015 Scholar Award recipients are:

Basic Research Fellows

Wendy Béguelin, PhD
Weill Cornell Medical College

Jacky Chung, PhD
Brigham and Women's Hospital

Stephen Chung, MD
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Jacob Junco, PhD
Baylor College of Medicine

Rami Khoriaty, MD
University of Michigan

Dan Landau, MD, PhD
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Jing Li, PhD
University of Illinois at Chicago
Dechen Lin, PhD
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, University of California School of Medicine

Danitza Nébor, PhD    

The Jackson Laboratory

Pengxu Qian, PhD
Stowers Institute for Medical Research

Pavankumar Reddy, PhD
Boston Children’s Hospital
Harvard Medical School

Kathryn Roberts, PhD
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

David Spencer, MD, PhD
Washington University

Jianlong Sun, PhD
Boston Children's Hospital

Benjamin Thompson, MD, PhD
Northwestern University



Clinical Research Fellows

Liran Shlush, MD, PhD
Princess Margaret Cancer Centre  



Basic Junior Faculty

Ash Alizadeh, MD, PhD
Stanford University School of Medicine

Daniel Bauer, MD, PhD
Boston Children's Hospital
Harvard Medical School

Aniruddha Deshpande, PhD
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Kira Gritsman, MD, PhD
Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Hao Jiang, PhD
University of Alabama at Birmingham

Birgit Knoechel, MD, PhD
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Jens Lohr, MD, PhD
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Jordan Shavit, MD, PhD
University of Michigan

Jian Xu, PhD
University of Texas-Southwestern Medical Center 



Clinical Junior Faculty

Meagan Jacoby, MD, PhD
Washington University School of Medicine

Jeffrey Lebensburger, DO
University of Alabama at Birmingham

Adam Olszewski, MD
Alpert Medical School of Brown University
Memorial Hospital of Rhode Island

Rizwan Romee, MD
Washington University School of Medicine

Vivien Sheehan, MD, PhD
Baylor College of Medicine

Jennifer Whangbo, MD, PhD
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute


Joanne Levy, MD, Memorial Award for Outstanding Achievement

León Kautz, PhD, of the University of California – Los Angeles (UCLA) will receive the 2014 Joanne Levy, MD, Memorial Award for Outstanding Achievement. This award is made possible by the family of past ASH Scholar Award recipient and distinguished Society member Joanne Levy, MD, who passed away in 2004, and is presented to the current ASH Scholar with the highest-scoring abstract for the ASH annual meeting, as determined by the appointed abstract reviewers. 

Dr. Kautz, who received his PhD in Molecular, Cellular, and Integrated Physiopathology from the University of Toulouse in France and is currently a postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Medicine in the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care at UCLA, is being honored for his plenary abstract, “Role of Erythoferrone in the Pathophysiology of Common Anemia.” This is the second consecutive year that Dr. Kautz has received this prestigious ASH award.

Dr. Kautz’s current laboratory research focuses on erythoferrone, the erythroid factor that he and colleagues have identified as responsible for coordinating iron supply for erythropoiesis. Supported by his ASH Scholar Award, Dr. Kautz is working to identify the mechanism involved in this regulation, including the receptors for erythoferrone and the signaling pathway through which it suppresses hepcidin. Dr. Kautz and his colleagues are also investigating whether erythoferrone plays a role in inherited anemias with ineffective erythropoiesis, such as thalassemia and congenital dyserythropoietic anemia, in which low hepcidin levels contribute to the development of iron overload. 


About the American Society of Hematology

The American Society of Hematology (ASH) ( is the world’s largest professional society of hematologists dedicated to furthering the understanding, diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of disorders affecting the blood. For more than 50 years, the Society has led the development of hematology as a discipline by promoting research, patient care, education, training, and advocacy in hematology. The official journal of ASH is Blood (, the most cited peer-reviewed publication in the field, which is available weekly in print and online.

About the ASH Foundation:

The ASH Foundation ( is dedicated to moving hematology forward through support of research, career development, and quality care and education programs. The ASH Foundation is supported through funding, resources, and leadership provided by ASH, the premier organization for physicians and scientists studying and treating blood disorders, and provides a mechanism for ASH members to give in support of critical programs. Personal donations to the ASH Foundation allow the Society to do more for hematology through the expansion or enhancement of existing programs. 

Alicia Davids

back to top