American Society of Hematology

Ernest Beutler Lecture and Prize Recipients

Named for the late Dr. Ernest Beutler, a past president of ASH and physician-scientist for more than 50 years, this two-part lectureship is intended to recognize major translational advances related to a single topic. ASH presents this award to two individuals, one who has enabled advances in basic science and one for achievements in clinical science or translational research.

Clinical research is defined by the description accepted in the Institute of Medicine (IOM) Clinical Research Roundtable as T1 (clinical translation of a basic science discovery to prevention, diagnosis or treatment of a hematological disease) or T2 (the translation of results from clinical studies into everyday clinical practice and health decision making).


2016 Zhu Chen and Hugues de Thé
2015 Alfred Goldberg and Paul Richardson
2014 Michael DeBaun and Robert P. Hebbel
2013 Kenneth Kaushansky and David J. Kuter
2012 Bruce R. Blazar and Carl H. June
2011 Brian J. Druker and Janet D. Rowley
2010 Barry S. Coller and Joel S. Bennett
2009 Thomas Maniatis and Yuet Wai Kan

back to top