American Society of Hematology

Committee on Promoting Diversity

Committee Roster

Belinda Rene Avalos, MD ('18)

Vice Chair
Georgette Amantha Dent, MD ('18)

Appointed Members
Staci D. Arnold, MD, MBA, MPH ('21)
Rafael Bejar, MD, PhD ('21)
Leon Bernal-Mizrachi, MD ('18)
Deepika S. Darbari, MD ('20)
Alex Francisco Herrera, MD ('19)
Ruben A. Mesa, MD ('19)
Sudipto Mukherjee, MD, PhD, MPH ('19)
Natarajan Muthusamy, DVM,PhD ('20)
Eneida R. Nemecek, MD,MBA ('18)
Olatoyosi Odenike, MD ('18)
Betty Pace, MD ('19)
Tycel J. Phillips, MD ('21)
Willye B. Powell, MD ('19)
Alison R. Walker, MD ('20)

Ex Officio Members
Stephanie J. Lee, MD, MPH ('20) - Vice President
Roy L. Silverstein, MD ('19) - President-Elect
Alexis Thompson, MD, MPH ('18) - President

Mary M. Horowitz, MD, MS ('18) - Member, Nominating Committee
Arturo Molina, MD,MS, FACP - ASH Representative to AMFDP NAC

Staff Liaison
Patricia Frustace

Committee Mandate

The Committee on Promoting Diversity is responsible for advising ASH in its efforts to improve minority recruitment into hematology research and practice in the United States and Canada, attract minority hematologists as members of the Society, and develop minority hematologists as leaders.

The Committee on Promoting Diversity oversees all aspects of the Minority Medical Student Award Program (MMSAP), the Minority Graduate Student Abstract Achievement Award (MGSAAA), and the newly established Minority Resident Hematology Award Program (MRHAP), including the selection of applicants for participation, mentor identification, and program evaluation, as well as the ASH-AMFDP – a partnership between ASH and the Harold Amos Medical Faculty Development Program (AMFDP) of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.  Finally the committee is responsible for the oversight of the ASH MRI Programs Subcommittee.

The Committee on Promoting Diversity monitors ASH programs, products, and services and makes recommendations to the Executive Committee for modifications to benefit the Society’s membership – such as the newly established ASH Institutional Representative Program. The Committee is also responsible for ensuring minority representation across the Society. This includes, but is not limited to, making suggestions for potential abstract reviewers, speakers, and committee appointments.

The Committee on Promoting Diversity sponsors the Promoting Minorities in Hematology event, which is held during the ASH annual meeting. This event, along with the MMSAP Luncheon, also sponsored by the Committee, provides minority hematologists and trainees with networking opportunities.

The Committee on Promoting Diversity structure includes at least two ASH members who have a PhD designation (to ensure that the interests of this constituency are represented) and a Nominating Committee member as a liaison member. There is also a liaison position for the ASH representative to the AMFDP National Advisory Committee.

Members of the Committee on Promoting Diversity are required to attend two meetings per year: one in the spring at ASH Headquarters and one in the fall at ASH Headquarters.

The Chair of the Committee on Promoting Diversity serves as a liaison member of the Program Committee and is expected to attend the meetings of that committee.

A member of the Committee on Promoting Diversity serves as a liaison member to the Awards Committee and is expected to attend the meetings of that committee.

back to top